Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Capricorn Records: Nothing Matters But The Fever

Day Three of our tribute to Capricorn Records with a band which was named as a twist of the name of its leader, Chuck Leavell – C. Leavell – Sea Level. Sea Level was an offshoot of The Allman Brothers Band featuring three of its members, Leavell, Jai Johnny Johanson, and Lamar Williams. They were joined by Jimmy Nalls to fulfill the complement of the original version of this fusion band. Shortly after their first album, the band enlarged to six members.

“Nothing Matters But the Fever” came from the band’s 1977 self-titled debut album. For the life of me, I cannot figure out what effect Leavell is using on his acoustic piano on this song. It almost sounds like he is fooling with a synthesizer mod wheel, but this was about five years or so before realistic piano sounds could be emulated by an electric keyboard. Good stuff from south of the Mason-Dixon Line.

No comments:

Post a Comment